Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: First Smoke on the WSM  (Read 2770 times)

Neil_VT00

• WKC Ranger
First Smoke on the WSM
« on: April 01, 2017, 02:15:10 AM »
I picked up an L-Code WSM for $75 off of CL. Gave it a good cleaning and had to replace the grill straps but other then that it's in great shape.

Today is its first cook. Pulled pork for 30... Little worried about cooking for a party when I've never used a WSM before, but should be fun. Here she is...

Sent from my iPhone using Weber Kettle Club mobile app
Wanted: Burgundy 18"

jeffrackmo

• WKC Ranger
Re: First Smoke on the WSM
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2017, 04:47:12 AM »
@Neil_VT00 Hope it goes well!  You got an early start! 

Any in progress pics?

What rub(s) are you using??

What Temp are you cooking at?

Using any gadgets? (Probes, Therms)

My first go on my 18.5 was a little intimidating to say the least.  I used too many STUBBS starter coals for the minion and she ran away on me.  Hitting temps of 350!!!  It took a good hour of adjusting the bowl Vents to stabilize the temps.  Once she settled it, it was a breeze.  For me, I completely close two bottom vents and leave one open about 1/2 way with the Lid vent 75% open. 

Once you get your head wrapped around what your WSM Does, it becomes second nature.  its a great feeling when you can get so good with your WSM, you just "Set it and Forget it"... well for a few hours anyway... :)

Good luck and can't wait to see the finished product!!

Jeff
Lets just say I have acquired a few Kettles.  Big and small.   Vintage and New...  Some say I have a problem.  I find the Kettle, buy the Kettle, USE the Kettle...No problem...

mhiszem

• WKC Performer
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2017, 04:49:19 AM »
Good luck! Looking forward to hearing how it turns out.

WGA, Uline Green SJ, '95 Red M/T, '88 Red 18", '01 Plum SSP, Patent Pending Yellow

Neil_VT00

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2017, 07:50:53 AM »