Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Smokenator...is it really worth buying?  (Read 14409 times)

TeddyC

• Smokey Joe
Smokenator...is it really worth buying?
« on: January 21, 2015, 06:51:37 PM »
Hello all, I'm about to add the Mastertouch 22 to my arsenal.  My main baby is my 18" WSM.  Flo has had many of good smokes in her belly over the last couple of years. 

Here's my issue.  The Mastertouch comes with the charcoal Fuel holder. If I want to do a light smoke, I can throw some wood chips on top, and have the fuel holders set up in indirect. Bingo, I'm smoking... 

So, what's the point of the smokenator?  Does the smokenator do anything different from what I just described?

Thanks, while I'm no newbie to smoking, I'm just learning the kettle game.
Hi, my name is Ted & I'm a smoke-aholic.
My Weapons:  Weber Smokey Mountain (Flo);
Weber Master touch 2015 (Lou Lou);

MINIgrillin

• WKC Ranger
Re: Smokenator...is it really worth buying?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2015, 07:17:53 PM »
I kinda see it as indirect+. Charcoal basket with a heat deflector.

I'm sure it holds more coals than a basket tho
Seville. CnB performer:blue,green,gray. 26r. 18otg. Karubeque C-60.

1buckie

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2015, 07:29:50 PM »
Sure, you can toss in some chips or small chunks anytime.....here's medium hickory chips added to personal sized turkey meatloafs...

adds in a nice extra layer of flavor.....

small to medium chunks work fine too.......I pre-heat them so they don't just smoulder thick smoke....

You can easily do long smokes on a kettle also....like so:

http://weberkettleclub.com/forums/bbq-food-pics/bob's-beef-o-rama/msg20382/#msg20382

http://weberkettleclub.com/forums/grilling-bbqing/re-print-ok-what's-in-kettle-3/msg35831/#msg35831