Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Looking for some advice from you all.  (Read 3044 times)

Slicer021

• Smokey Joe
Looking for some advice from you all.
« on: September 14, 2015, 12:30:32 PM »
I am still new to the Kettle cooking ways but slowly getting used to it.  So far I have just done the regular every day cooking on it.  All of which the food has been so much better than my Charbroil gasser that I was using.  I now want to start doing to slow cooks on it as well.  I was going to invest in either the SnS or G'rillaQue but relized I first need to get me a good Instant read and probe style that I can leave in the cooker as well.  I can't afford a Thermapen atm so was just looking for your advice on which Thermometers would be good to look at.  I am on a budget right now but would like to get the best I can atm if I can.  Thanks all for your advice.

Harleysmoker

• WKC Brave
Re: Looking for some advice from you all.
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2015, 12:56:05 PM »
For an instant read thermometer a ThermoPop works great. They are only $29 and made by the same company as the Thermapen.

For a Thermometer to watch grate temperature and food temperature the Maverick ET-733 for around $69 works great also.

I have both and they both work great.

Troy

• Statesman
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2015, 02:14:35 PM »
You don't need any special devices to smoke on your weber

Start out with a basic snake method. Or if you already have baskets, just use one and add a few lit briquettes to a basket full of unlit.
Or you can use firebricks.

Seriously. TRY smoking in your kettle before investing in kettle smoker accessories.

As for thermometer, the Maverick 732 is still my top choice.
The 733 is same thing, but with preset alarms for different meats.
The 735 takes 4 probes and relies on your phone and bluetooth. BUT IT SUCKSSSSSSSSSS

JDLones

• WKC Brave
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2015, 03:08:21 PM »