Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: My Smokenator Chicken is Dry - Please Help Me  (Read 7656 times)

ed3120

• Smokey Joe
My Smokenator Chicken is Dry - Please Help Me
« on: June 08, 2015, 12:28:54 PM »
I have a 22.5" Performer with a Smokenator.  I tried smoking a whole chicken and it came out dry. 

I used the Smokenator and kept the water pan full.  I butterflied the whole chicken, and smoked it for 3.5 hours at around 225 degrees.  It came out done, and the meat was fairly tender, but way too dry.  It was like a dry sponge, with the juice sucked out of it.

I'm new to this and I'm seeking any advice.  Thanks.

MacEggs

• WKC Performer
Re: My Smokenator Chicken is Dry - Please Help Me
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2015, 01:02:00 PM »
Simple answer … Stop using the Smokenator.  Just my opinion.  Sorry to hear about your results, but at least it was edible, right.

Cook the chicken at 300-325°.  It will be done quicker, crispier skin, and it should be juicy.

Have a meat thermometer handy.  Preferred my most, if not all, is a Thermapen.  Take it to no more than 170° internal temperature.
Let rest for a spell, then dig in.  Keep trying as that is half the fun.   :D 8)

And, welcome to the WKC!
Q: How do you know something is bull$h!t?
A: When you are not allowed to question it.

mirkwood

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2015, 01:54:51 PM »
I agree with MacEggs on not using the Smokenator for smoking chicken like that. If you want to add smoke to yer yard bird just roast it like
one normally would cook a bird just add a small chunk or two of your favorite smoke wood to the fire and cook at 300 ~ 325 till it is about 165
in the area between the thigh and body. You use the Smokenator for other, longer low and slow cooks like pork butt, brisket or my fav, prime rib.

You might consider a buying rotisserie for the 22 and crank out some killer spun yard bird, super crispy skin and really juicy..