Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Charcoal Snake on 18" Kettle  (Read 1749 times)

PatioQ

• Happy Cooker
Charcoal Snake on 18" Kettle
« on: February 11, 2015, 05:33:06 AM »
Getting ready for my first cook on a restored 1984 18" brownie. 

What would work for 225-250 as far as building the snake.  2 wide 2 hight, or?

And yes, I have never used a charcoal snake before.   

Johnpv

• WKC Ranger
Re: Charcoal Snake on 18" Kettle
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2015, 06:01:22 AM »
It really depends on your area and the weather.  Typically though in my 22.5 I do 2 x 2 snake.  Meaning 2 rows on the bottom and 2 rows on the top.  Now when its extra windy or extra cold out or both I some times add a 3rd layer of just 1 row. 

Usually what works for me is to have the 2 x 2 snake, and have my bottom vents cracked just a little more than a hair open.  I typically have my top vent some where between 1/4 - 1/2 open.  Once I get it dialed in that will hold in the 225 area for me.

1buckie

• WKC Ambassador
Re: Charcoal Snake on 18" Kettle
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2015, 07:03:05 AM »
John's idea is easily workable.....I like to let more airflow thru & stack less coal to get at a lower heat....

Here's 2 & 1 in a daisy wheel 22"......

Build the line most all the way around.....if you don't need it to go all the way, just break the chain....

Some chips of lump for "burn insurance".....

All vents mostly full open....top always open gets a good strong throughput of air....blue burn, pushing out the top vent is a good thing to look for....

Even this started out a little slow....200.....

Pushed some coals / wood up a bit after 1/2 hour to get things going a bit better.....

Now it's moving better....

Ran right around 260 or a bit above for as long as needed....

This was a sunny, but not too hot of a day....and a good size load of meat....