Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Looking for new grill set-up/seasoning help  (Read 561 times)

bonehead762

• Happy Cooker
Looking for new grill set-up/seasoning help
« on: February 23, 2023, 11:12:07 AM »
Just bought a Weber Master Touch for my brother as a surprise. I've been smoking meat for a couple decades but i haven't been very good at grilling. But my brother needs something to grill and que with so i wanted to surprise him with this. However, I was hoping you Weber experts could help me with assembly and to season/break it in for him. I'll take it to him when I visit him at the end of March.

Any tips for a Weber newbie?
« Last Edit: February 23, 2023, 11:14:17 AM by bonehead762 »

Stoneage

• WKC Brave
Re: Looking for new grill set-up/seasoning help
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2023, 07:12:07 PM »
When I asked this as a total newbie to Webbers coming from an offset barrel, they said not to bother because the enamel doesn't need it.
I did a long slow smoke with the entire stack of Webber, smoker riser, & roti, just to get it all "set up" anyway.
I put some brats, bacon & representative meat scraps of pork, beef & so in to get it "back to my old BBQ". I didn't intend to consume any of it but the brats & bacon just smelled so good & scarfed down the lot!
I have found that the build up that "seasons" the old barrel does not "stick" to the Webber enamel, so it may have been a waste, but if nothing else it got that "new Paint & mold release agent" smell out of it.

« Last Edit: February 23, 2023, 07:15:23 PM by Stoneage »

bonehead762

• Happy Cooker
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2023, 09:56:04 AM »
Ok. Nice. Thanks.

MANCHAS2020

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2023, 05:32:43 AM »
Ok. Nice. Thanks.
Looks like a "Cajun Bandit" Set-up???/

stillgriller

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2023, 11:00:37 AM »