Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Accessory Suggestions  (Read 1961 times)

Anthony11204

• Smokey Joe
Accessory Suggestions
« on: July 11, 2018, 06:35:33 AM »
Hi All,

Total Noobie to the WKC.  I've been a gasser all my life and always thought I should try the charcoal way.  Well as fate would have it as I brought my daughter home from a sleepover on a Saturday morning we drove by a garage sale and out of the corner of my eye, I saw the top of a Weber Ketter peeping out behind a table of baby clothes.  I went all starsksy and hutch and swooped into a parking spot and left my daughter behind.  It was and 18" priced at $20.  Offered $10...SOLD.  Ande I have been experimenting/learning every Saturday since.

Anyway, I have plans for building a cart/table as I am over 6ft and the 18 is way low. But before that, I received a $100 Amazon gift card and would like to go on a spending spree.
 - Any recommendations for Weber vendors on Amazon?
 - Should I get a flip grate or cast Iron grates?
 - Can you recommend a thermometer I can install to the lid.
 - Also looking for a recommendation on a digital instatn read thermometer.

THANK YOU!

jkolantern

• WKC Ranger
Re: Accessory Suggestions
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2018, 07:46:35 AM »
Nice score!

Best instant read thermometer is Thermopen. Same company makes thermopop, which is cheaper and also good.

I'd probably get flip grates.  Cheaper,  easier (and save the cast iron for when you get a 22  or 26"- more grills are likely coming)

Single best accessory I think is the chimney.  Followed by the thermopen. But the flip grate and a chimney will leave plenty of room on that gift card for baskets,  rubs, thermometers (maverick or thermoworks smoke really good remote thermometers) etc.

What color is it?  And welcome!

dbhost

• WKC Brave
    • Daves Workshop Youtube page.
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2018, 08:13:22 AM »