Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Monday Night Pizza  (Read 2238 times)

SixZeroFour

Monday Night Pizza
« on: August 15, 2016, 10:35:21 PM »
I'm a big time Pizza rookie so I'm hoping to pick up some tips from all the resident Pizza Pro's 8)

My biggest issue so far is not getting the Pizza to stick to the peel... even with lots of flour I ran into a bit of trouble at the start but was able to sort things out. This was the maiden voyage for the GBS pizza stone and I was very pleased with the results. Next time I need to amp up the temp and try to brown the top a bit more, but all things considered it tasted great!

Have a good one!

Matt
W E B E R    B A R - B - Q    K E T T L E

Travis

• WKC Ambassador
Re: Monday Night Pizza
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2016, 12:58:20 AM »
How can you go wrong with those ingredients!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RumBar

• WKC Brave
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2016, 02:44:03 AM »
I mix a little cornmeal with my flour to help it slide on and off the peel.

●|||||||●

Grizz

• WKC Brave
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2016, 03:12:44 AM »
Second that about the corn meal.  I don't have a peal, but when I cook on a pizza stone in the oven, I generously spread corn meal over the stone before I stretch and place the dough on it.  Works so good in fact that when I pulled the stone out of the oven one time the pizza slid right off and onto the floor. 

Troy

• Statesman
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2016, 03:12:58 PM »
skip the cornmeal and head straight to the semolina flour. It doesn't burn like cornmeal, or at least when it burns it doesn't taste like shit the way cornmeal does.

it helps to build the pizza on a wooden peel (with a light dusting of semolina flour)
don't let it sit on the peel very long though, otherwise it will stick

use the metal peel to remove the pie

Davescprktl

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2016, 03:34:40 PM »