Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: New grilling area  (Read 1029 times)

crowderjd

• WKC Ranger
New grilling area
« on: April 20, 2020, 07:15:39 PM »
The lockdown has been mostly a curse.  I am a teacher, and I am very fortunate to still be teaching, but in an online format, which is NOT my favorite.  I didn't get into teaching to do a bunch of video chats and online lessons...anyway, I am still somewhat busy teaching, but far less so than I would normally be, not to mention the fact that there are no more extra curricular activities for the kids.  Honestly, that part has been nice...no constant rushing from one thing to another.

So with that, I've amassed quite a honey-do list.  New locks on doors, new weatherstripping on windows, new faucets, and on and on...but one thing I wanted was a new area for my grills in my backyard.  I have 0.12 acres here in Vegas, and 21 grills.  The back corner of my yard used to be these two honeysuckle vines, that just didn't add much to the yard, and collected leaves from the neighbor's trees.  So, I finally dug them out, capped the sprinklers, and then started a new FB Marketplace/OfferUp search: pavers.  Good lord, you think Weber grills go fast, wait till someone posts free or cheap pavers.  For a couple weeks I was outbid or was too slow to get any.  I put out an email to my co-workers asking if they had any, then a buddy of mine texted me to look at dump sites for new subdivisions in our area...and off I went on Saturday.  Lo and behold 10 minutes away was an ABUNDANCE of discarded pavers in a vacant lot that said "Concrete disposal site."  These were the nice pavestone pavers.  I filled up the back of the trusty Tucson, and set to work.