Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Prep for first slow’n’sear: Help please  (Read 265 times)

dpilot83

• Smokey Joe
Prep for first slow’n’sear: Help please
« on: June 24, 2021, 07:47:18 AM »
My main question is:

1. Is my meat decent looking? I’m a terrible judge. This has been in my freezer for a month or so. Vacuum sealed. Purchased from a a local family that raises and sells their own beef.

2. Is it too thin to use the slow’n’sear method? The thinner cuts are maybe 1” and the thicker cuts are maybe 1.25”

So far I have thawed it to nearly room temp (probably warmer than I should have let it get?) and then salted both sides and put it in the fridge overnight without any covering.

I’m thinking the next step is to get about 25 briquettes and get them going so the grill can run at 225 for close to an hour and get the internal temp up to....?

Then sear?

I’m a total noob. Just going off the video on the slow’n’sear YouTube channel.

In the past I have tried getting it down to room temp so that I wouldn’t end up with a raw inside and a burnt outside and then just grilled it for maybe 4 or 5 min per side. Always struggled with it maybe being too raw on the inside to be comfortable giving to the kids or ended up being overdone.

Just trying to get better.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2021, 07:49:41 AM by dpilot83 »

Mr.CPHo

• WKC Mod
Re: Prep for first slow’n’sear: Help please
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2021, 07:55:21 AM »
Hello and welcome.  Steaks look good to me and should be fine if vacuum sealed and frozen.  I believe in the smell test and when in doubt throw it out. 

JEBIV

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2021, 08:14:13 AM »
For 1 1/2 thick steak or less I go direct to just below desired internal temp and let rest and serve. It has worked for way to many years to change
Seeking a Black Sequoia I know I know, I'd settle for just the tabbed no leg grill

bamakettles

• WKC Ambassador