Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: New Member from greater metro Phoenix area  (Read 6295 times)

M_C_1976

• Smokey Joe
New Member from greater metro Phoenix area
« on: October 26, 2019, 10:05:58 AM »
Hello all.  Been lurking for a while and really enjoy the content here, so wanted to make an introduction.  I'm just an everyday guy who enjoys cooking good backyard BBQ.  My Weber stable consists of a plain black 22" 1997 kettle that I've been cooking on, well since 1997.  Recently, I added a 2004 Black SSP purchased used from a fellow in Mesa, who is likely a member of this forum.  The performer has been an absolute game changer for me, with the cart, propane assist, sweeping vent system and ash collector it leaves me wondering "Why did I wait so long to upgrade?".  The old kettle, is now relegated to vortex chicken, with all dampers open all the time!  Everything else is done on the performer now.
After my old Kenmore gasser burned up about 5 years ago, I went a few years with only charcoal grills & smokers until one day while cruising the neighborhood, I spot a Weber grill with a "free" sign posted on it.  Naturally, I scooped it up and took her home.  She needed a little work and I restored it to better than new.  My limited research shows it being a 2000 Genesis Silver with side burner and the box is a nice plum color.  I added a rotisserie and am enjoying the convenience of the grill when needed, although I have to admit it mainly is used for hot dogs or to warm up my leftover BBQ cooked on the kettles!
That's about it.  While I'll probably never become a collector, I enjoy the photos and reading about the old and rare kettles here.  I particularly like the Mods & Customs forum and hope to be able to learn and possibly contribute.

Matt