Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: First Cook On My 18" WSM  (Read 1650 times)

WinnipegKettle

• Smokey Joe
First Cook On My 18" WSM
« on: July 26, 2018, 03:35:16 AM »
Well i did some jerky on it a few weeks ago so i guess its my second cook on it. Doing about a 5-7 lb brisket and its my first attempt at a brisket. I've done some pork loins on my 22" kettle with good results. Really just looking for some basic tips such as smoker temps what kind and how many wood chunks length of time for cook and internal meat temps as well. Bought some Stubbs briquets so want to use those or would you recommend another kind. Any basic tips would be great and thanks.

Mike in Roseville

• WKC Performer
Re: First Cook On My 18" WSM
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2018, 06:14:12 AM »
Everybody does it differently so you are bound to get different answers across the board.

5-7lb Brisket? Is it a point or flat? I have cooked a 7lb full packer before which is why I ask.

Here is what I would recommend:
-Use the Stubbs briquettes...they are excellent.
-Smoke wood...your choice 2-3 fist sized chunks will be plenty. I have used Apple/Pecan with beef with great results.
-Kosher salt and course black pepper 50/50.
-Dial in the WSM for 275 degrees. Try and keep it between 250-300.
-No Water in the pan (line with foil for easy cleanup). Fat side DOWN if it hasn't all been trimmed away.
-Spritz with a combination of apple juice/cider vinegar/Worcestershire sauce periodically ratio of 2-3/1/a dash.
-Wrap at 165 internal. Start checking it around 198. Cook until 203-205 (you may need to go a little higher, but feel it with the probe).
-If wrapping in foil at the stall, vent steam when you pull it off or it will overcook.
-Let it rest for an hour.

One tip I will say is if you lift the lid on the WSM, work quickly. Temps will skyrocket if you leave the lid off too long.

WinnipegKettle

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2018, 05:01:46 AM »