Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Blue turned black and blue  (Read 1379 times)

michaelmilitello

• WKC Performer
Blue turned black and blue
« on: July 25, 2018, 06:44:09 PM »
A shout out to @buckeysmoker to selling me a spare blue.  No heavy mods just some heavy cleaning and paint. 

Before

After with paint to the undercarriage: legs, triangle, and ash pot.  A dark Zav handle on top might complete it. 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

baglorious

• Smokey Joe
Re: Blue turned black and blue
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2018, 05:24:54 AM »
Looks great! Beautiful end result!

And not to compliment your kettle and then point out the flaws... (forgive me, I'm a newb).  Doing anything to address the rust on the handle weld?  I've grabbed a handful of kettles since getting into this a few months ago (about to acquire #4).  When I have seen some vintage kettles locally... they've wanted too much and more importantly (to me at least), they've had a couple of pretty significant rust spots on the bowl.  (Much worse than the on the handle joint of yours.)  I've always been somewhat deterred by the significant rust spots.

Doing anything on yours?

Edit:   After writing this post, of course, I did a search on the topic.  Info is out there, and many suggestions to clean as best as possible (without getting to bare metal) and applying oil or bacon grease to 'season' it and prevent further rust.   Just curious if you are of that school of thought? 
« Last Edit: July 26, 2018, 05:38:23 AM by baglorious »

michaelmilitello

• WKC Performer
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2018, 06:13:55 AM »
Looks great! Beautiful end result!