Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: SnS Rotiserrie Chicken  (Read 1878 times)

cnmg432

• Smokey Joe
SnS Rotiserrie Chicken
« on: May 29, 2018, 07:45:36 AM »
I've been thinking of digging out my rotiserrie again.   I haven't tried it for a few years.   I had trouble tying the chicken and the two that I tried didn't taste as good as spatchcocked.   I'd like to try it with my SnS.   I didn't have it back then.   A couple questions:

Is a smaller chicken better?  What size?
Is a brine or rub better on something like this?

thanks!

addicted-to-smoke

• WKC Ambassador
Re: SnS Rotiserrie Chicken
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2018, 08:01:05 AM »
Tying takes a little practice, and I'm no expert but getting better. Use a helper if that helps, but all I do now is pre-cut strips of string, tie, snip off excess. Tie a bit tighter than you think "you should have to do" so that it doesn't slip apart.

I've never brined; can't answer. I just put some rub seasoning on and go. It's my favorite way to cook whole birds. You can do two at once and see which way is better on the rotisserie. Can't imagine the size of bird should matter, and I never seem to have a choice in stores anyway.

Give it plenty of heat and just let it go. Stop the spinning at about 45 minutes and check bird temp to see how close you're getting.
It's the iconic symbol for the backyard. It's family/friends, food and fun. What more do you need to feel everything [is] going to be all right. As long as we can still have a BBQ in our backyard, the world seems a bit of a better place. At least for that moment. -reillyranch

JEBIV

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2018, 08:03:57 AM »
Ditto @cnmg432 @addicted-to-smoke started using my roti a few months back, no better way to do a whole bird
Seeking a Black Sequoia I know I know, I'd settle for just the tabbed no leg grill

relayer61

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2018, 08:57:14 AM »