Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Weber Smokey Mountain vs Kettle  (Read 4293 times)

cjm7171

• Smokey Joe
Weber Smokey Mountain vs Kettle
« on: April 18, 2018, 07:30:22 AM »
Good day, ladies and gentlemen.  I'm a kettle veteran.  I have learned much from this forum through the years, including the snake method for smoking meats on the kettle...which brings me to my reason for being here today.  I am always very happy with the way my meat turns out using the snake method.  It works in warm weather and even in Michigan winters.  I am kind of getting the itch to purchase a Smokey Mountain though.  Those of you that have both, and have used the snake method...is it necessary?  What benefits will I see?  I'm guessing less charcoal use will be one.  Please inform.

addicted-to-smoke

• WKC Ambassador
Re: Weber Smokey Mountain vs Kettle
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2018, 09:58:55 AM »
Capacity, and the ability to do some things differently such as hanging meat come to mind for smokers. A smoker also makes a dandy grill for direct cooks that would cause you to use low heat for direct cooks on a kettle.
It's the iconic symbol for the backyard. It's family/friends, food and fun. What more do you need to feel everything [is] going to be all right. As long as we can still have a BBQ in our backyard, the world seems a bit of a better place. At least for that moment. -reillyranch

HoosierKettle

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2018, 10:03:30 AM »
A wsm will have much longer burn times. Overnight cooks are easier. Easier to maintain temps over long periods of time 12+ hours without adding fuel.

Sent from my iPhone using Weber Kettle Club mobile app

Big Dawg

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2018, 02:20:07 PM »
What @HoosierKettle said.  Especially if you add a DigiQ ! ! !

BD
The Sultans of Swine
22.5 WSM - Fat Boy
22.5 OTG - Little Man/26.75 - Big Kahuna

BlueArch91

• Smokey Joe