Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Shades of blue  (Read 2291 times)

Cellar2ful

Re: Shades of blue
« Reply #15 on: September 06, 2017, 06:07:03 AM »
Among the reasons for a shift in color was the outlawing of certain chemicals (pigments) which are toxic when heated such as the yellows and reds.  That was the primary reason for the drop in colors for many years.

Once the porcelain was able to have color again (desired colors) that was when the browns, greens and that darker red began showing up again in the late 2000s.

I have a late 2000s blue gumball with this interesting lever action that raises the charcoal closer to the cooking grate.

Welcome to the Forum MDurso. Beings that you worked for Weber, was the release of toxins just in the manufacturing heating process or do the older Webers continue to release toxins in the cooking process?  Also, do you have a picture of your blue gumball?
"Chasing Classic Kettles"

TheDude

• WKC Performer
« Reply #16 on: September 06, 2017, 10:44:04 AM »
You guys stop it. Hard to look at those beauties that you can't get anymore.

They are out there. You'll find yours.
Still need a 22” yellow

LightningBoldtz

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #17 on: September 06, 2017, 10:58:07 AM »
@Craig you might like this
I am not a collector, but I do have a small collection.
"You can have everything in life you want if you will just help enough other people get what they want"
8 MBH, 2 WoodDale, a SCG, and other stuff, including Pellet grills.

Neil_VT00

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #18 on: September 06, 2017, 11:07:30 AM »
Great looking lineup!  Really interesting to see the color shift through the years.
Wanted: Burgundy 18"

RottiGuy

• WKC Performer
« Reply #19 on: September 06, 2017, 01:58:33 PM »
Really love the Blue's!!

Darko

• WKC Performer
« Reply #20 on: September 06, 2017, 07:16:33 PM »