Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Help with first butt  (Read 2907 times)

chas1723

• Smokey Joe
Help with first butt
« on: July 01, 2017, 12:42:20 AM »
I plan on cooking a 7 pound butt in the next few days. I have never cooked one before. What rub would you use?  Also what temp would you cook it at? 

I am still new to cooking on a kettle and need all the help I can get.

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk

Shoestringshop

• WKC Performer
Wife said "No more GRILLS in this house!" So I bought a 2nd house!

1buckie

• WKC Ambassador
Re: Help with first butt
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2017, 08:57:03 AM »
Ordinarily, this would be an easy answer......

I'd send up a few choice links, you peruse them, come back with perhaps some questions I/we get those covered & Bob's yer uncle.....BUT,

Photobucket has seen fit to ruin a choice part of Americana & I gotta find the pics, get them on the Kettle Club area & then bring them here.....

Hang in there, @chas1723   I'll be back............

Check into Shoe's story in the meantime....he's got it going good....
« Last Edit: July 01, 2017, 08:58:34 AM by 1buckie »
"If you want it fancy there is BBQ spray paint at home depot for that. "
    Covered, damper-controlled cooking.....IF YOU PLEASE !!!
           "But the ever versatile kettle reigned supreme"    

1buckie

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2017, 11:56:47 AM »
@chas1723

OK..........

Here's way you can try that a lot of folks get great results on the very first outing....

Set your coals approx. like this:

Leave that gap there....that's where you place about 10~12 LIT coals to "light the fuse", so to speak.....

A 1/2 hotel pan works well for a drip pan....these things drop a TON of juice.....

I'll often fill them w/ beans...with small bean-sized sweet pepper & onion bits, some spices & honey...double up the pan if you do this, as it gets kinda heavy...