Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: WSM second time using it.  (Read 871 times)

RumBar

• WKC Brave
WSM second time using it.
« on: June 08, 2016, 08:23:13 AM »
Saturday's weather said only a sight chance of rain so I fired up the WSM outside rather than on the patio. I used kbb and pecan wood chunks.
Prepped the STL ribs and a small 2.5 pound brisket flat Friday night.

This is my first attempt at smoking ribs and my third at a brisket (the first two briskets turned out poorly, so this was to be my last attempt at it). 

Brisket and beans below.

The temp settled in around 240°. I added some poppers after two hours and a light sprinkle started.

The rain started around the 3 hour mark just as the brisket started to stall. The rain caused the WSM to drop as low as 205° before I opened the vents and an umbrella. At the 5 hour mark the temps finally settled back in. I didn't think it'd recoup from that but it came back around.

Pulled the ribs, poppers and beans around 6 hours in and left the brisket as it continued to stall. Other than missing the brisket for dinner everything turned out great. I must admit I was happy when our guests left because I knew the brisket would now be all mine, if it ever finished.

After 9 hours my little brisket topped out at 192°. Wrapped it in foil for a half hour, cut, sampled, sampled again and went to bed.

Other than the brisket taking 3 hours longer than I anticipated it was fantastic! I will certainly be trying it again.
The WSM worked great, but I was really surprised at the temp loss during the rain. Just proves that'll I'll have to cook on it much much more. I used no foil on this cook (other than the resting) and I was happy how it all turned out. I will say I was worried that I'd have huge chunk of jerky with brisket being on so long but it was very juicy and tender.
Thanks for looking.

●|||||||●
« Last Edit: June 08, 2016, 08:24:56 AM by RumBar »

Nate

• WKC Ranger