Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Your Very First Kettle Cook  (Read 3620 times)

93_confirmed

• Smokey Joe
Your Very First Kettle Cook
« on: April 20, 2014, 07:40:45 PM »
I'm brand new to the world of charcoal grilling and just nabbed a new Gold Series Performer this afternoon. I haven't fired it up yet and before I do, I'm curious to hear what you guys cooked when you broke in your very first Kettle. Any suggestions for a fun starting cook? Is there a standard Kettle initiation that I should be aware of?  ;D
I'm new to grilling so go easy on me.

jcnaz

• WKC Performer
Re: Your Very First Kettle Cook
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2014, 08:07:22 PM »
I like to get a new or "new to me" kettle really hot the first time that I fire it up to burn off any chemical or cleaner residue.
Next I like to cook something that will put a good coating of vaporized fat and smoke all over the inside  of the kettle. Sort of gunking it up but with MY gunk! Chicken is good for that, or a bunch of burgers and ABTs!
A bunch of black kettles
-JC

Hogsy

• WKC Performer
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2014, 08:28:08 PM »
Roast pork, nothing does crackling like a kettle
Of course you'll have to do all the other trimmings as well, roast vegies , Apple sauce, gravy

I'm only 2 or 3 kettles away from being that creepy guy down the street with all the Webers
                            WKC Collaborator
                        Viva La  Charcoal Revolution

pbe gummi bear

• WKC Mod
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2014, 09:44:46 PM »
For grilling- steaks, brats, or burgers. For low and slow ribs or the forgiving pork butt if you got time and mouths to feed. Anything cooked with your effort on a shiny new toy will automatically taste better. Make sure to report back.

My first charcoal cook as an independent adult was a small 8 rib rack of lamb, grilled indirect on a CGA. For my OTG first cook, I think I cooked some marinated tri tip from Trader Joes.