Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Ballad of the $3.67 top sirloin steak or Holy Molé!  (Read 3547 times)

addicted-to-smoke

• WKC Ambassador
Ballad of the $3.67 top sirloin steak or Holy Molé!
« on: June 26, 2013, 12:50:36 PM »
EVENTS OCCUR IN MORE OR LESS REAL TIME. As far as you know.

This here all started last night when the grocery store had the audacity to display small cuts of lean looking beef, as yet uncooked, near the entrance. Did they know I'm mainly cooking for one this week, and that I haven't tackled steak on the grill in a very, very long time?

I'm not good with recipes. I can follow them but it just often doesn't work out like it should. A good cook can adjust, adapt, zig and zag. Where an idiot savant's (at best!) course aligns with a professional's is in the gut reaction, that zone where experience and luck become the same thing.

So most of what I can do occurs when I have nothing else to lose, but this isn't really desperation, just the knowledge that my car key will take me to McDonalds if it all goes Horribly Wrong.

My philosophical camp lies with leftovers and reuse and with "Hey! Watch This" combinations. I won't claim it frequently works out. My wife, who doesn't enjoy cooking and rarely does it, inherited the gene from her mom that allows her to peer into the abyss of our pantry, filled with stuff that appears useful for nothing (I never seem to have what The Recipe calls for) and in 30 minutes to an hour tasty food appears.

I've watched her but I don't think her hands actually move. I get a little spooked.

Lately my method is to do a 3 minute Internet search related to what I want to cook and then I take the gist of that, forget 40% of what I didn't read and light the motherfuckin' coals. My wife as observed this behavior over the winter when cooking stuff indoors and knows I don't cook the same dish twice because I don't know how to do so.