Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Preferred charcoal?  (Read 29146 times)

bkoval

• Happy Cooker
Preferred charcoal?
« on: July 21, 2022, 12:17:06 PM »
Even though I've been propane grilling for years, I am completely new to the charcoal game. I know the difference between briquettes and lump, and from what I've read people largely go with briquettes in their kettles. Are there brands that are better than others? I know this is such an elementary question but I'd love to hear what you experts have to say!

bamakettles

• WKC Ambassador
Re: Preferred charcoal?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2022, 12:51:02 PM »
I'm by no means an expert, but I'll throw in my $.02...... My go to briquette is B&B orange bag.  I'll use Kingsford as well when it's on sale, but it burns really fast in comparison.  As far as lump, I like B&B oak (brown bag) and hickory (green bag).  All of these are usually available at Academy Sporting goods in my area for a decent price.  They can be found at Ace Hardware as well for more coin.  Main thing I've learned over the years that works best for me is to wait until your coals are ashed over before introducing food to the grill.  My wife is not a smoke fan and getting a good clean fire going helps make her happy with the outcome.

MoparProud

• WKC Brave
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2022, 02:06:32 PM »
Best I’ve ever had is Jealous Devil. It’s got a flavor and smell that kills anything I’ve bought. I almost refuse to buy Kingsford.

Have tried Blues Hogs (meh), and B&B lump which isn’t too bad. I almost never run briquettes, in fact I’ve had some JD briquettes for almost two years and haven’t tried them.

Sent from my iPhone using Weber Kettle Club

FlashHokie

• WKC Brave
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2022, 07:04:58 PM »