Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Simple chicken breasts  (Read 1498 times)

Firemunkee

• WKC Ranger
Simple chicken breasts
« on: February 23, 2018, 10:25:54 AM »
This was from a simple weeknight cook. I ended dup cooking them over direct heat. I'm still learning so a lot of them ended up dry by the time the thickest past was a safe temp. I usually cook chicken indirect and usually they turn out okay. I used a full lit chimney of KBB and tried to turn them every few minutes. I know you can flatten them so they cook more evenly, I just haven't take the time to try that yet. I like the extra grilled flavour and speed with direct cooking but want to avoid dry chicken. Any suggestions would be much appreciated [emoji4]

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: February 23, 2018, 10:36:20 AM by Firemunkee »
Together we'll fight the long defeat.

HoosierKettle

• WKC Ambassador
Simple chicken breasts
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2018, 10:47:00 AM »
That looks tasty and healthy. I seldom do boneless skinless anymore but if you have an instant read try to pull them at 160 in the fat part. Someone correct me if that’s bad advice?  I usually do bone in skin on chicken breasts indirect. They are more forgiving and very juicy. However not as healthy I’m sure.

I would eat every bit of that plate though. Looks great.

Sent from my iPhone using Weber Kettle Club mobile app
« Last Edit: February 23, 2018, 10:49:34 AM by HoosierKettle »

jacobp

• Smokey Joe
Re: Simple chicken breasts
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2018, 11:55:10 AM »
A full chimney might also be overkill for boneless skinless, I'd probably go about 2/3 if you want to cook completely direct. If it were me, I'd probably start them over direct heat to get the sear, color i want, and then move them off the direct fire to finish.

That plate looks great!

chapel321

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2018, 12:26:25 PM »