Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Plan for my Xmas Rib Roast  (Read 3193 times)

xring01

• Smokey Joe
Plan for my Xmas Rib Roast
« on: December 22, 2015, 02:19:34 PM »
OK, Below is my plan for my Xmas Dinner Prime Rib..
I have smoked many prime ribs, I am always trying to up my game.. The reason I am posting this, is to see if any of you think this is not a good plan, or have suggestions.

I just bought a 8.5lb 3 Bone Rib Roast, with plenty of marbling in the middle. I was fortunate enough to arrive at grocery store, right when they were unpacking a bunch 15-20 of full length Rib Roasts.. I was able to choose the one I wanted. So I think I got the best one...

Plan.
Tomorrow, Weds AM, I will remove the bones, and trim it, then Dry Brine with a Light Coat of Kosher Salt, wrap it in Saran Wrap. Put it back into the fridge. So it Dry Brines for 48hrs before I cook it... I have never done it this way before, Its supposed to suck in the salt and retain moisture better on the finished cook.

On Xmas day, I will wipe off as much of the salt as I can. Then I will Rub it down with a Wet Rub Consisting of Olive Oil, Finely Chopped Onion, Chopped Garlic, Chopped Fresh Rosemary, Black Pepper, Salt and a bit of Paprika. I will put this on Thick, very thick. 

Then I will slightly smoke it (a few chunks Apple wood) at 225-250 degrees to 125 degrees internal temp. Then I will sear it over hot coals,  turning it 360 degrees until it hits 135 internal temp.  I am not a Medium Rare Guy, prefer Medium.. So I know thats a bit over cooked to most of you.. But I have to please my family..

Then it will be served with Baked Taters (wrapped in foil on smoker), Saute'd Mushroom/Onions/Red Wine Side Dish I make, and a home made horseradish sauce.

My wife will most likely make a green bean casserole...

Then it will all be served with a bottle of Cab Savignon that I have been aging for 6-7 years..