Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Kettle cleaning/maintenance/care  (Read 1173 times)

Bearded

• WKC Brave
Kettle cleaning/maintenance/care
« on: August 31, 2020, 01:06:06 PM »
As many of you know by now, I am brand new to charcoal, smoking, and kettles all at the same time.

With this newness comes questions around cleaning and care.

Outside of cleaning the grill grates before/after each cook and placing a drip pan on the charcoal shelf below the meat, what cleaning do you all do  with every cook?

Here is what sparked the question. After two smokes, I have started to notice a sticky residue on the lid and lip of the kettle. Some of this stickiness has made the lid vent very tough to adjust. Is this a normal byproduct of smoking? Do you clean this off? How often?

Should I do a deeper clean once a year where I scrub down the whole grill?

How do you clean behind the lid vent to remove the sticky build up there?

Any other tips and or advice would be great.

Sorry for all of the questions. I am only two cooks in and am already in love. Now I want to make sure I am taking care of the tool!

ReanimatedRobot

• WKC Ranger
Re: Kettle cleaning/maintenance/care
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2020, 01:57:39 PM »
As far as cleaning goes the main thing your want to do is make sure you empty out the ash after a cook so it doesn't draw moisture and turn into an ash cement clogging up your sweeps. 

That greasy residue on the lid and bowl is a good thing.  Think if it as your natural lid gasket. 

Using foil pans, foil, things like the SnS griddle under your food does keep the mess down quite a bit. The one touch system keeps it easy, but in vintage kettles or the Ranch it can save you a lot of headache.  If you want to keep your ash pan clean you can wrap the top with tin foil.