Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: How to mount non performer kettle to performer table  (Read 5470 times)

rox05web

• Happy Cooker
How to mount non performer kettle to performer table
« on: June 24, 2016, 09:03:09 AM »
Newbie here, I have a 18 1/2 in one touch platinum that needed a new bowl.
I bought a used 18 1/2 kettle grill and of course it does not have the brackets to
mount to the table. What is the best way to make brackets. I thought of cutting off
the brackets of the old bowl and grinding off the metal from the grill.
Any suggestions?

zavod44

• WKC Ambassador
Re: How to mount non performer kettle to performer table
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2016, 10:01:50 AM »
That would be the best idea.  The brackets themselves are actually a complicated shape.  If you could carefully grind of the old ones and bolt them on the new grill that would be fairly painless.  Just be mindful of where you put the bolts so it doesn't hang up your grates when you drop them in.  Use a  short profile nut maybe....

Sent from my Motorola Droid Turbo 2

Vintage Weber Grill raconteur and bon vivant.....and definitely Sir Agent X

haeffb

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2016, 10:41:22 AM »
Any suggestions?

I recently bought a performer table with a non-performer kettle. If you're not too concerned with how it looks, this seemed to have worked for the previous owner:

rox05web

• Happy Cooker
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2016, 03:31:33 PM »
Thank you for the replies, haeffb I cannot tell from the picture how it is mounted.

haeffb

• WKC Ranger
How to mount non performer kettle to performer table
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2016, 04:39:33 PM »
He sat the handles of the kettle on the frame, then used two pieces of thin scrap wood and ran bolts through the wood and through the original holes in the frame. It was secure enough that it wasn't going anywhere.

Here's a pic of the hardware. Looks like two pieces of 1" by 1/4" or so oak trim.