Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Charcoal Novice  (Read 4792 times)

St Marys

• Happy Cooker
Charcoal Novice
« on: April 11, 2015, 10:51:35 AM »
I'm new to charcoal grilling and have a brand new weber master touch. I'm looking for a starters guide that covers the most basic basics: what charcoal to use, how to start it, when to start grilling, how to control temperature, direct vs indirect tips...everything. I've been grilling with gas for years, but prep, timing and control over charcoal are throwing me off my game. I'm looking forward to lots of practice this Spring. Any suggestions?

1buckie

• WKC Ambassador
Re: Charcoal Novice
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2015, 11:48:44 AM »
Howdy & Welcome !!!!

Don't know that we have a single guide like that all in one place, but we can certainly help with setups & general guidelines & things to watch for....

You'll see some stories like this:

http://weberkettleclub.com/forums/grilling-bbqing/indirect-cooking-low-medium-high/

about how to set up charcoal & what then to expect..............

and brands....

http://weberkettleclub.com/forums/grilling-bbqing/royal-oak-briquettes/

Here's some about setup & what works & problems encountered....

http://weberkettleclub.com/forums/grilling-bbqing/frustration-just-need-to-vent/

http://weberkettleclub.com/forums/grilling-bbqing/effect-of-wind-on-at-ots/

Some charcoal basket experiments by Jammato.....

http://weberkettleclub.com/forums/grilling-bbqing/charcoal-baskets-and-heat-experiments/

Here's a generalized map of ways to set up charcoal for different methods & heats....

For starting, most folks use a chimney starter, a little newspaper or a lighter cube underneath, fill the chimney all or part way with charcoal & in maybe 15 or so minutes, it's ready to go.....dump in the kettle, in whichever setup style you need & wait just a few for the kettle bell & grates to heat & you're good to go.....