Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Scratch & Dent Sale. Scoring my first Black Kettle.  (Read 5411 times)

Craig

• WKC Mod
Scratch & Dent Sale. Scoring my first Black Kettle.
« on: March 27, 2013, 08:39:50 PM »
So just this last Saturday I was at work, and came up to my returns desk (I work in retail management) and noticed a box in a returns cart....It's a Weber 22.5" OTS box, I immediately perked up..."whats this?" I asked my returns cashier.. she said..."The customer had returned it because the lid had a small scratch on it". The place I work at only has grills on our website and not in our store, so why wouldnt the guy just buy a OTS from Ace, 'Depot, or Lowe's??  :-\ , oh well, I inspected the grill, yeah, just a little porecelain loss on the front lip of the lid, the lid is ever so slightly out of round, not a big deal, and its a BNIB. Long story short, after processing in damages, I was given a resell price of..................$19.98! With my discount, $17.10 for a brand new, never cooked on blackie, yeah its a 2012 model, not exciting as scores go, but it was had for a song as far as I'm concerned. Oh and I had a bonus gift card to use to pay for it so no money out of pocket.  ;D

Heres a few shots....this one, all assembled and looking new, fresh, modern, hip, and with it. Note, this is my first time with the "H" style sweeper, I pinched the sh*t out of my fingers putting it together..  :o

The scratch

The Vent

Shown with 2000-2011 era OTG handles...... just for fun.

I want to make this one a throwback kettle since my red '95 has the gold can already. So, inspired by this sweet black C code 3 wheeler kettle from 1981 (not mine),

I mixed in a couple of wood handles that I have (from Brian) and a rolled lip twisty ash catcher from of a 1985 kettle (from Mike Stavlund) and we have what I like to think of as my new One Touch 30th Anniversary Limited Edition