Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Wire rails or baskets?  (Read 3016 times)

spinsheet

• Smokey Joe
Wire rails or baskets?
« on: July 22, 2013, 11:39:36 AM »
I've been using Weber charcoal rails for indirect cooking and am happy with them. Are they really making a difference? I don't know but they at least keep the charcoal consolidated giving me more room for indirect cooking. Should I be looking at baskets or are the rails fine? Is there a difference? Is one better than the other?

Thunder71

• WKC Brave
    • Civil Response Firearms Training
Re: Wire rails or baskets?
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2013, 11:42:50 AM »
I'm a newbie when it comes to charcoal, and Weber's - but I really like the baskets because they are pretty versatile. I can have them in the middle, one on each end, just one, etc... plus it keeps the coals from actually touching the grill, not sure if it matters but anything to help it last longer.

Just my inexperienced opinion.

spinsheet

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2013, 11:48:50 AM »
I too was concerned about the coals laying against the grill. Wondering how much that shortens its life. The baskets would alleviate that, would they not?

landgraftj

• WKC Performer
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2013, 11:57:39 AM »
Spin I doubt there is any difference when cooking. Do whatever is conviently for you. I prefer baskets or firebricks. Depends on the cooker. My nicer cookers use the baskets because I don't want the coals against the bowl. The older ones use either. Although it will take a long while to ruin the bowl unless your doing high, high heat constantly in the same area of the bowl.
Not everyone deserves to know the real you. Let them criticize who they think you are.

ChadRex

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2013, 12:19:38 PM »
I like the baskets  however have noticed one major draw back with using the baskets..