Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Hello from South Carolina  (Read 1993 times)

SCKettleBBQ

• Happy Cooker
Hello from South Carolina
« on: July 25, 2020, 12:05:26 PM »
Man, am I thankful I found this site.  What a ton of info.  I've been grilling for decades, mainly on a gas for the last 15 years or so and wanted to up my game.  So like a lot of folks I stumbled upon AmazingRibs and the passion was re-ignited.  I already had a ThermoPop and have recently added a ThermoWorks Smoke and some Grill Grates.  I pulled my old 26" kettle out from storage and have re-discovered the greatness of charcoal.  Thanks to your archives and history I believe I have a '69 or '70 judging by the one screw wooden handle, metal side handles, and the Pat. Pending on the top vent.  (If I'm wrong, please correct me as pics are included)  This was bought new by my Dad and passed down to me.   About 25 years ago I replaced the wooden handle, ash bowl, and the cooking grate.  I've been trying to get in touch with Weber and researching to find some new grates, but have gotten nowhere.  Now I just found a post on your site with the model numbers listed and apparently they are still available?  I'll call when I have a few hours to kill.  I was interested in a Slow 'N Sear, but apparently the low profile model my kettle needs is discontinued.  Does anyone know if they have any squirreled away if you call?  Anyway, I'm glad I found this community and hope to learn new tips and techniques and maybe add to my collection of one.

Cellar2ful

Re: Hello from South Carolina
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2020, 12:14:31 PM »

What you have is a Aristocrat. Weber gave nicknames to their kettles for marketing purposes.  You can see it listed in this 1968 Weber Catalog.

http://weberkettleclub.com/weber-catalogs/1968-weber-catalog.pdf