Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: What’s the best way to salvage these handles  (Read 746 times)

captjoe06

• WKC Performer
    • Northeast BBQ
What’s the best way to salvage these handles
« on: March 11, 2020, 11:19:01 AM »
They weren’t cheap and they haven’t been on the grill long but hop they can be brought back to somewhat decent looking.

Sent from my iPhone using Weber Kettle Club
Smokey Joe Black, Smokey Joe Lime Green, Original Kettle Premium Black,'92 Red OTS, Yellow Simpson's 22, 78 Red MBH, '80 Black MBH, '10 Brick Red Performer,'12 Grass Green Performer, '03 Blue SSP, '97 Blue SSP, 18 inch WSM

bamakettles

• WKC Ambassador
Re: What’s the best way to salvage these handles
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2020, 11:26:36 AM »
I'm not a pro at wood refinishing, but given its current state, it shouldn't hurt to give it a light sanding, stain and coat with polyurethane.  Shouldn't be too hard.  I'd just go easy on the sanding and take your time with medium grit and move to fine grit to get it nice and smooth.  Polyurethane products should have directions on the can - usually a light fine grit sanding between coats.  Some stains also come combined with poly to save time.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2020, 11:31:58 AM by bamakettles »

Tbagley

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2020, 02:04:21 PM »
I would probably try one of the  Formby's strippers that just removes the topcoat without really removing the stain, bonus is little to no sanding may be needed.  Then decide what kind of top coat you want, I'd consider a Tung oil or something similar so when the finish fades a bit a quick buff with some 1000 steel wool and you can apply another coat or two to refresh the look. 

If you know who made it you could always try reaching out to them and see what they top coated it with as that could change how you might refinish it as it is now.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2020, 02:07:15 PM by Tbagley »

captjoe06

• WKC Performer