Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Help out a noob - preheating my grill!  (Read 1433 times)

Bonehead

• Happy Cooker
Help out a noob - preheating my grill!
« on: September 24, 2019, 07:41:03 AM »
Hi all

Long time lurker, just registered as I was hoping someone could help me out.

I'm brand new to the world of weber grills and grilling / smoking in general.  I bought my first weber kettle around 3 months ago and have actually been pretty impressed with how burgers, chicken thighs / wings and ribs have turned out so far given my lack of experience, but one thing I really struggle with is getting my grill to temp at the start of my cook.

I have the Weber's complete BBQ book which I have been taking tips from - with regards to pre heating it says to pre heat the grill to 500 degrees then use the vents to get to your required temp, but i really struggle to get it down to 250 even with the vents closed.

Can anyone let me know what I'm doing wrong, and what I can do to get to my optimum temp.

Thanks!

ReanimatedRobot

• WKC Ranger
Re: Help out a noob - preheating my grill!
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2019, 08:05:05 AM »
Hi all

Long time lurker, just registered as I was hoping someone could help me out.

I'm brand new to the world of weber grills and grilling / smoking in general.  I bought my first weber kettle around 3 months ago and have actually been pretty impressed with how burgers, chicken thighs / wings and ribs have turned out so far given my lack of experience, but one thing I really struggle with is getting my grill to temp at the start of my cook.

I have the Weber's complete BBQ book which I have been taking tips from - with regards to pre heating it says to pre heat the grill to 500 degrees then use the vents to get to your required temp, but i really struggle to get it down to 250 even with the vents closed.

Can anyone let me know what I'm doing wrong, and what I can do to get to my optimum temp.