Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: charcoal chimney  (Read 6006 times)

namtrag

• WKC Brave
charcoal chimney
« on: September 22, 2014, 07:42:51 AM »
Just getting started on buying accessories for my new-to-me SS Performer.

Seeing as my gas assist works, would you advise me to get a regular Weber charcoal chimney, or a compact one?  Seems like a big one would be best since it seems like you could just fill it halfway and get the same amount as a small one, but would have flexibility to do a big load if needed.  But since I am a total novice, I may not be correct!
« Last Edit: September 22, 2014, 07:48:14 AM by namtrag »

Hogsy

• WKC Performer
Re: charcoal chimney
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2014, 08:20:26 AM »
Chimneys are cheap, buy both!
I'm only 2 or 3 kettles away from being that creepy guy down the street with all the Webers
                            WKC Collaborator
                        Viva La  Charcoal Revolution

LightningBoldtz

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2014, 09:18:23 AM »
I use both for different purposes.
I am not a collector, but I do have a small collection.
"You can have everything in life you want if you will just help enough other people get what they want"
8 MBH, 2 WoodDale, a SCG, and other stuff, including Pellet grills.

Lerxst

• WKC Brave
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2014, 09:50:25 AM »
If you are only getting one, get the big one.  But yes, having both really is the best way to go. 
"Woke up this morning thinking - what can I barbecue next!  This is fun!"

mike.stavlund

• WKC Performer
    • MikeStavlund.com
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2014, 10:12:03 AM »
I have and use both, but I too would start with the bigger one. 

PROTIP:  back in the old days before mini-chimneys, we old-timers would turn our larger chimneys *upside down* when lighting a very small amount of coals for smoking, etc..
One of the charcoal people.

1911Ron

• WKC Performer