Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Boston Butt -- Researching Recipes  (Read 2755 times)

Eapples

• WKC Brave
Boston Butt -- Researching Recipes
« on: October 27, 2013, 09:58:51 AM »
Hello, Everyone -- Newbie here.  Still asking and moving ever so slowly into the realm of "real" barbecue and grilling, i.e. over charcoal.

I've checked with another website dedicated to charcoal barbecue, low and slow, and I received a variety of responses all with the same mantra, i.e. go ahead, try it, and don't forget to have fun.

Here's my question -- as I understand his recipe, Mixon's recipe for a quick and easy for pulled pork (6 to 8 pounds) is as follows:  marinade for at least an hour or preferably overnight (he provides the recipe for the marinade).  Get the smoker up to 550 degrees, and then lower it down to 300 degrees; or if you're using a charcoal grill, get it to high heat.  Using his rub, ensure that the whole piece of meat is covered, place the meat in an aluminum pan, and smoke for 4-4 1/2 hours until the meat reaches an internal temp of 195 degrees.  (This is for a 6-8 pound piece of meat.)

In another variation of the recipe, with a piece of meat big enough to serve up to 40 people, get the smoker prepared at 250 degrees.  Prepare as before.  Put the meat in an aluminum pan, cover with foil and cook for six hours.  Remove the pan and let the meat rest covered for up to 45 minutes.

I have a 5-pound pork butt.  I settled on a variation of these recipes -- in an aluminum pan, uncovered, for six hours, in the smoker at 275 degrees.