Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Plug for my High School STEM Scholarship  (Read 7308 times)

pbe gummi bear

• WKC Mod
Plug for my High School STEM Scholarship
« on: May 20, 2020, 12:05:58 AM »
Hi WKC,

I wanted to tell you and ask for support for the STEM scholarship my wife and I are supporting for my alma mater, Mundelein High School in the northern suburbs of Chicago, IL. I founded the Mundelein STEM Explorers (MHS STEM-X) Scholarship in 2018 to give back to my community and inspire students. I graduated from MHS 15 years ago and they have always provided me and my three siblings many opportunities. In fact, my youngest brother just graduated this year. The goal of the scholarship is to facilitate immersive pre-college STEM opportunities to promising students who are interested in STEM topics and careers- especially the 40% low-income and 50% underrepresented minority portion of the MHS student body.

I have provided several scholarships for students to attend college STEM programs such as a coding camp at Northwestern, the Explore Your Options in Engineering program at UIllinois, and the Seminar for Top Engineering Prospects program at Purdue. This scholarship has successfully solidified the recipients' interest in engineering, boosted their college applications, and allowed them to directly pursue STEM majors in college. This article on the MHS website has additional information about previous years' scholarships: https://www.d120.org/alumni-success-leads-to-stem-scholarships-for-students/