Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Smoking 2 pork butts on a kettle  (Read 665 times)

Firemunkee

• WKC Ranger
Smoking 2 pork butts on a kettle
« on: April 27, 2018, 01:36:00 PM »
I am making pulled pork for a high school club event in a few weeks. I plan on smoking 2 butts for about 16lb total. I was considering doing it all on one kettle with a SnS but I'm not sure how well it will fit on a 22". I was thinking I would cut them in half to get more bark. What are things to consider if cooking all that meat on a 22? I imagine it would take more fuel because of the larger amount of meat. How might air flow be affected if the meat takes up the entire grate? Would there be a large temperature difference across the grate? Do I need to use more smoke? Should I just do 2 kettles? I might be doing an overnight cook so I would rather not have 2 kettles going. I know another option is to cook ahead of time and reheat the day of. But I'm an engineer and I like to understand how things work hence all my questions :) Any input would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
Together we'll fight the long defeat.

cigarman20

• WKC Ranger
Re: Smoking 2 pork butts on a kettle
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2018, 04:20:10 PM »