Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: First few practice runs on KCBS BBQ  (Read 2616 times)

Fullbore BBQ

• Smokey Joe
First few practice runs on KCBS BBQ
« on: March 31, 2017, 07:03:20 AM »
First off any critiques or advice any of you have to give i'm all ears, I'm very new to this and hope to compete in the 2017 season at a few cooks to get my feet wet. So here is a few of my practice attempts at KCBS style bbq, chicken i'm still working on uniformity to get a good end result. If i started cooking 10-12 pcs i think i could put together a respectable looking box...

2nd attempt at chicken, didn't take pictures of the first one, and first turn in box build

3rd attempt (quick run on a sunday afternoon)

4th run of chicken

Got burned out on praticing chicken so moved on to brisket
1st attempt at brisket

Currently im in the process of getting 2 more 22WSMs rigged up and ready for 2017 i have one now and going to practice chicken on a kettle, if i cant get the results im looking for im thinking of going with a 18wsm for chicken. All of my WSM have bbq gurus. Thanks again everyone
« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 07:05:45 AM by Fullbore BBQ »
1 Weber OTG 26" 1 Weber OTG 18.5" 1 Weber Pimped out Smokey Joe Gold  2 Weber WSM 22" 1 Weber WSM 14.5 3 BBQ Guru Lime Green Thermopen MK4

Fullbore BBQ

• Smokey Joe
Re: First few practice runs on KCBS BBQ
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2017, 07:06:39 AM »
well after the last few snow storms I still try to get some practice in still not the results i'm looking for but i do learn something new every time.... 2nd attempt at brisket just a simple USDA choice grade about 14#. i really wish i wouldn't of squared up the ends. lesson learned a little more trimming it should be top notch
1 Weber OTG 26" 1 Weber OTG 18.5" 1 Weber Pimped out Smokey Joe Gold  2 Weber WSM 22" 1 Weber WSM 14.5 3 BBQ Guru Lime Green Thermopen MK4

Fullbore BBQ

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2017, 07:07:18 AM »