Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Anyone Got Pork Spare Ribs Recipie ideas?  (Read 1185 times)

joness105639

• Smokey Joe
Anyone Got Pork Spare Ribs Recipie ideas?
« on: September 08, 2015, 04:13:08 PM »
I have an 8 lb slab of pork spare ribs in the refrigerator that I want to grill, but I'm not entirely sure how to cook them or season them etc.  I've never grilled such an epic piece of meat.  I have a 1993 ss performer ready and waiting for the challenge complete with charcoal baskets, and the gourmet system 22.5" grill grate.  I have kingsford briquettes and applewood chips, but I'm open to alternatives for this cook.

madbbq

• Smokey Joe
Re: Anyone Got Pork Spare Ribs Recipie ideas?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2015, 09:48:24 AM »
I'm new to the whole smoking thing but if it were me this is what i would do.

Cut the ribs to St. Louis style,
Remove the membrane on the back,
Apply rub (you can look all over the internet for different recipes).  I personally buy a local brand that does not include any sugars then apply light brown sugar after.  Let sit for a couple of hours.
Set up grill for indirect using the 3-2-1 method, (also found on the internet)

The flap you cut off to make st. louis style you  could cook on the side for snacks.

Not much detailed but hope it is a start.

1buckie

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2015, 09:51:39 AM »
Smoke 'em on up.......

Rub with favorite seasonings (generally, I would avoid much sugar / brown sugar in the rub, as the cook will take awhile & it could burn some)

These were big ones.........

Two small snakes, opposite directions, rotate goods a few times during cook to keep from directly above coals.....I added more coals than you see here, before the startup.....go ahead & pack some in so you maybe can go without a re-load......top vent open, bottoms pinched down to get the temp you want..... ;D

(along with beefs on another kettle)