Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Any good stories from previous owners?  (Read 3075 times)

posey.brad

• Smokey Joe
Any good stories from previous owners?
« on: July 11, 2015, 07:44:08 PM »
I'm fairly new to this whole weberitis thing but I love the idea of karma and memories tied to grills and cooking.

On that note, I had my brother pick up a faded black mbh off of CL for me last week. This was my first "old" kettle and I had been emailing the owner Don for a week. My brother sends me pics of the kettle and I am excited because I know from this site that it's from the late 70's and a bit older than I am.

First cook on the night I got it!

Well I emailed Don back after the kettle was in my possession if he was the original owner and if the kettle was originally black. I also asked if he had any good stories about using the grill, etc.

He responds that he moved to Texas in 75 and bought a house in Huntsville in 78. He thinks he bought it then but he wasn't sure. He also said that other people had emailed him asking if the grill was black or grey. Well, Don is colorblind and hadn't noticed the grill fading over the years. He wondered why the guy in the email asked about the color because Don had posted a picture.