Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Hello from Ireland and my hopefully new vintage purchase  (Read 2244 times)

Gar863

• Happy Cooker
Hello from Ireland and my hopefully new vintage purchase
« on: February 25, 2023, 05:06:32 AM »
Hey everyone newbie here from Ireland hoping to do a deal on a kettle but looking for advice firstly if it's stamped L it's a 1989 kettle Is that correct and secondly is it worth restoration

bamakettles

• WKC Ambassador
Re: Hello from Ireland and my hopefully new vintage purchase
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2023, 07:01:42 AM »
Welcome from Huntsville AL USA.  Correct, 1989 - not a rare kettle here, not sure how many choices you have in Ireland.  If it’s worth it to you I say go for it.  I’d research parts availability first to make sure you can get what’s required.  Best of luck!

Sent from my iPhone using Weber Kettle Club

Gar863

• Happy Cooker
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2023, 07:16:01 AM »
Welcome from Huntsville AL USA.  Correct, 1989 - not a rare kettle here, not sure how many choices you have in Ireland.  If it’s worth it to you I say go for it.  I’d research parts availability first to make sure you can get what’s required.  Best of luck!

Thanks man yup it just needs the one touch cleaning replaced

SixZeroFour

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2023, 09:42:22 AM »
Welcome to the site Gar863.

I agree - if the price is right why not snag it!

A couple quick things to keep an eye out for are the leg socket areas of the bowl - make sure they are sturdy and not detached at all. Also have a look at the grate tab areas inside the bowl as they can also become weak points if neglected. As long as the bones are good she can be saved!
W E B E R    B A R - B - Q    K E T T L E

RRRanger99

• WKC Performer
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2023, 11:09:37 AM »
Welcome from Virginia Beach, VA, U.S.A.

Gar863

• Happy Cooker
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2023, 11:11:20 AM »
Welcome to the site Gar863.