Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: What finish do YOU use on wooden handles?  (Read 17661 times)

mike.stavlund

• WKC Performer
    • MikeStavlund.com
Re: What finish do YOU use on wooden handles?
« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2013, 05:27:38 PM »
Thanks for starting this thread!  It's very timely for me, as Bman and I are collaborating on rehabbing a couple of older gassers with new handles and wood tables.  In fact, I just bought some spar varnish today to do some field-testing (I've never used it before).

I'm a big fan of teak oil for our patio furniture, but noticed that it takes a while to really 'cure', and I've been worried about it getting tacky when it is really close to a source of high heat (like when it's on a grill handle).  Has anyone else had trouble with this?
One of the charcoal people.

LightningBoldtz

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2013, 05:35:52 PM »
I wish I had read this thread before because I am kinda ignorant when it comes to treating wood.

I wondered if Brian rolls his eyes when some of us rookies talk about poisoning his handles with Cherry stain and polyurethane.  HAHA

I was really impressed and please with the finished handle that I got from Brian for my 60's kettle, well worth the extra money.
I am not a collector, but I do have a small collection.
"You can have everything in life you want if you will just help enough other people get what they want"

cbpeck

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2013, 06:26:55 PM »
I recently refinished the two original handles on my '88 redhead. I started by closing two small cracks with Gorilla Glue and sanding them down as little as possible, but as much as was necessary to get through the gray. I then applied three coats of Minwax 2 in 1 Pulyurethane with Stain. I used the Pecan color, Satin finish. I felt like I was taking the easy way out, but they turned out really nice. Here are some photos: