Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Looking for Thermometer advice  (Read 1723 times)

Slicer021

• Smokey Joe
Looking for Thermometer advice
« on: October 26, 2017, 10:43:32 AM »
Hey guys!  I am looking at finally getting me a nice thermometer.  I have an instant read now just looking at getting one to keep a monitor on temps when cooking low and slow.  I have been reading all kinds of reviews and now think I am more confused than ever lol.  Can you guys give me some advice on which leave in thermos I should look at?  Thanks all in advance

Big Dawg

• WKC Ranger
Re: Looking for Thermometer advice
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2017, 12:27:01 PM »
I've been using Maverick (732 & 733) for several years with no real problems other than having to replace a few probes here and there. 

They are solid units.  But there lots of newer ones out there that may have more features.

BD
The Sultans of Swine
22.5 WSM - Fat Boy
22.5 OTG - Little Man/26.75 - Big Kahuna

addicted-to-smoke

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2017, 01:20:18 PM »
I've read nothing but good things about the Thermoworks Smoke. http://www.thermoworks.com/Smoke

The Maverick 732 and 733 cost less. They are "the standard" in dual probe setups because they've been available for so long. I have a 733 that I no longer use. It's miserable to program, but does work reliably over good distance if all you want to do is monitor temps by frequently looking at the receiver. I need to gather the pieces and sell it.

Stay away from all of the Bluetooth setups unless you like less battery time on your phone, being held captive by how good or how bad the phone app is, for the lifetime of the app/operating system and so on, and far less range and reliability. You can easily take a Maverick or a Smoke receiver over to the neighbor's house two doors down or so to chill or way back in the backyard and never lose the radio connection.