Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Just bought a used WSM 22 and have a ?  (Read 2435 times)

mdb240

• WKC Brave
Just bought a used WSM 22 and have a ?
« on: August 12, 2017, 04:27:58 PM »
I am rather new to smoking but have been using a cheap brinkman smoker until I got this beast. I knew I wanted this for a long time but didn't have the funds to secure one. I have a few questions...

I just cleaned the bottom out of charcoal and it was wet as I didn't have it covered.  I put the OEM cover on and it had a strap looking thing hanging from the bottom, what is it?

How much charcoal is typically lit at first to get it up to that 225-250 temperature?  I tried the snake method but not sure I put enough charcoal to maintain temp more than 5 hours, any idea?  I started it by putting in a chimney of full coals, not enough?

What's the best way to maintain temp.. start with a ton of lit coals and damper it down to starve oxygen, or smaller amounts of fully lit charcoal and keep replenishing?

Help..

Mkrause

• WKC Brave
Re: Just bought a used WSM 22 and have a ?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2017, 05:19:35 PM »
Congrats on the new toy! My 18 came with a cover that has two elastic bands towards the bottom that hold it snug, maybe one of yours is ripped? As far as the charcoal, again this is only experience with an 18, i pile it up around the sides of the charcoal ring and leave the middle somewhat open and then pour 3/4 chimney of lit coals in the center. The temp goes up quick with all vents open and then i choke it down when it's close to my target and make minor adjustments from there. Again, the 22 may be a whole different beast and I'm no expert yet but it seems to work well for me on the 18. I had mine last a solid 9 hrs. without adding coal, i threw in a couple handfuls at the 9 and 11 hour mark but after 13 hours i still had a lot left.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Weber Kettle Club mobile app

Dsorgnzd

• WKC Brave