Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Rusted Performer Legs  (Read 1758 times)

PayBack

• Smokey Joe
Rusted Performer Legs
« on: April 28, 2017, 09:15:44 PM »
Ok, the legs that came with my Performer were rusty when opening my 2010 model Performer. I opened it late last year and was lucky enough to get a new set. I am planning on putting the grill together but got to thinking about refurbishing the rusted legs and paint them all black. Any ideas how I can tackle this properly? I have no experience doing a project like this. Thanks in advanced.

Sent from my iPhone using Weber Kettle Club mobile app
Low and Slow

PayBack

• Smokey Joe
Re: Rusted Performer Legs
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2017, 08:34:43 PM »
I bought some rustoleum aircraft remover to strip the paint. Then I'll take care of the rust. Don't know how I'm going to tackle the paint. I'll post pictures as I go.
Low and Slow

toolhead

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2017, 07:04:42 AM »
are the legs of the gen 2 performer steel.. i always thought they maybe aluminum...

proper way to repaint rusted metal.

sand all rust completely off, wipe down with denatured alcohol or mineral spirits. etc..
let dry completely.. i tend to take water after and wipe down again/ let dry completely.

then i use rustoleum high heat paint, which requires no primer/ 2 coats per oem instructions...

once you perform the prep.. follow whatever instructions are recommended from the paint can.

given the rust is @ the bottom of the legs.. dont worry about using high heat temp.. unless you are buying the paint.. as you may want to use same paint to touch up other areas closer to the kettle/ higher heat action.

if you have std paint laying around.. i would use that ..if only painting the bottom section of the legs.. you wont have much heat exposure in that area..

good luck
Grills

PayBack

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2017, 09:32:02 AM »