Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Need some advice, gas vs charcoal roti...  (Read 1524 times)

dpb

• Happy Cooker
Need some advice, gas vs charcoal roti...
« on: March 08, 2017, 01:54:27 AM »
I have a Weber Q 2200 and a 22" kettle. I would like a rotisserie but I'm torn between one for the kettle or the Q. Can anyone with experience offer their thoughts on flavour comparison? If you are cooking indirect does it matter that much.

Obviously a gas one is more convenient and would be used more often. It's also cheaper ($180 vs $250, Aussie prices) and cheaper to run I guess.

One day I may have both but for now what do you say?

Sent from my iPhone using Weber Kettle Club mobile app

hawgheaven

• WKC Performer
    • Hawg Heaven Smokin' BBQ
Re: Need some advice, gas vs charcoal roti...
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2017, 03:07:05 AM »
I have no experience with gas units, but I do have the 22" Weber rotiss... I love it! I set a drip pan directly under the meat on the coal grate, and place coals on both sides of the pan. Works great and uses very little fuel.
Multiple kettles and WSM's. I am not a collector, just a gatherer... and a sick bastard.

LightningBoldtz

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2017, 03:14:40 AM »
Either way you are going to get good results, when I roto, it is usually poultry which does not involve mush smoke so either option is good. That all said, I really like my kettle roto a lot.
I am not a collector, but I do have a small collection.
"You can have everything in life you want if you will just help enough other people get what they want"

blksabbath

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2017, 05:13:43 AM »
Wow! I had no idea there was a rotisserie option for the Q grills.  Although it's probably not available here in the US.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JDann24

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2017, 05:28:45 AM »