Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: 4th of July Charcoal sales  (Read 5658 times)

swamprb

• WKC Performer
Re: 4th of July Charcoal sales
« Reply #15 on: July 01, 2016, 04:53:54 PM »
I've been swimming against the "Cowboy Sucks" tide for a couple years now.

I'm alone in my experience, apparently. When it was clearanced at HD a couple yrs ago I bought about 20 bags and had no trouble, and found only 1 non-charcoal thing in 1 bag. You can read my testimonials if you search on the BBQ Brethren site.  ;)

It sparks a lot and it may take a little longer to calm down.

I'm with you! I really think that was a few years back when Cowboy got a bad rap for having crap like building scrap and insulation in the bags, they've tightened up and I've had nothing but good smokin' with it. I noticed they also have "Southern Style" lump - whats up with that?

Been seeing more people complain (including myself) about rocks mixed in with RO lump.

Nothing sparks more than Mesquite lump! A lot of people don't like it, but I favor Lazarri - If you are in the Bay Area their Oak Lump is the chit!!

I cook on: Backwoods Gater, Lang 36, Hunsaker Smokers, Pellet Pro 22" WSM, BGE's, WSM's, Cajun Bandits, PK Grills, Drum Smokers, Genesis Silver C, Weber Q's, Cookshack 008, Little Chief, La Caja China #2, Lodge Sportsman...oh yeah! Weber Kettles! Kamado restoration and pit modification hack!

mike.stavlund

• WKC Performer
    • MikeStavlund.com
« Reply #16 on: July 01, 2016, 05:20:11 PM »
I'm going to try to get some Stubbs-- I'm away most of the weekend, though.  Thanks for the tip!

Lazzari is indeed totally awesome, @swamprb .  I cooked on both their mesquite and their oak lump last fall, bought it from the Lazarri warehouse.  It was magic. 
One of the charcoal people.

LightningBoldtz

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #17 on: July 01, 2016, 05:31:51 PM »
Just finished my last bag of Cowboy Lump to never buy again.