Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: achieving 215-230 degrees and blue smoke  (Read 4662 times)

S!LVER

• Smokey Joe
achieving 215-230 degrees and blue smoke
« on: April 15, 2016, 06:03:23 AM »
First I have tried searching for this topic and while I did find a few posts I didn't find anything that really helped. 

Okay so I am fairly new to cooking on the Weber kettle.  I bought my first kettle at the beginning of march and have been learning how to achieve the right temps for different cooks.  I have read alot of information on amazing ribs.com which has been a big help. 

So my question is this.  How do you guys get the kettle to hold temps in the range of 215-230 while still getting blue smoke?

I have been having some problems with this.

First I am using indirect setup described on the amazing ribs website.   

My first few cooks with the kettle I lit up a half chimney of blue bag and duped it to one side.  With the lid on I then throttle back on the lower vent keeping the top full open.  I find that in order to get the temps down low I that to almost close the vent entirely.  This is something described on this website alot and on amazing ribs.  The problem is when you start starving the fire the smoke go from blue to white and grey.  This has made the food not the best. 

So I started to think I must be starting with too much lit charcoal. So I started to use less lit briquettes.  Lit just a handful and then put some fresh ones next to it.  This even made the problem worse.  I have read that the briquettes put off a lot of heat and smoke when they are first lit.  So I had to throttle back even more and this in combination with new briquettes lighting up caused even more white smoke.

I have yet to try the snake method or something like the slow n sear.  The snake method seems like the best option is this what you guys use. 

Most of my cooks are around 1 - 3 hrs for either a beef roast or ribs.