Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: New Weber S-330 - Excessive Corrosion?  (Read 3812 times)

gnaughton

• Happy Cooker
New Weber S-330 - Excessive Corrosion?
« on: February 06, 2016, 04:22:46 AM »
Hi guys,

I am new to the barbecue world, and indeed new to this forum. Just last week bought a new Weber Genesis S330, and so far it has been a great success :)

Today I thought I would give it a clean, as I am expecting grill grates to arrive tomorrow. I was a little shocked when I seen the state of box, particularly the flavorizer bars. I brushed the items with a weber wire brush, and cleaned with a cloth in warm soapy water. The results are in the final two images below - should I be worried, or is this to be expected!? Any advice would be much appreciated. Cheers

Before cleaning:

Flavorizer bars removed

Flavorizer wire brushed and cleaned with cloth (worst bar)

Flavorizer wire brushed and cleaned with cloth (best bar bar)

LightningBoldtz

• WKC Ambassador
Re: New Weber S-330 - Excessive Corrosion?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2016, 05:19:24 AM »
those flavorizer bars are just fine(in the before shot), when you BBQ things get dirty and the flavorizer bars are the first to take the hit.

Key is to keep the major crap off of it and rotate them and you will be just fine.
I am not a collector, but I do have a small collection.
"You can have everything in life you want if you will just help enough other people get what they want"

gnaughton

• Happy Cooker
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2016, 09:30:33 PM »
Great stuff - thanks for the reassurance! Such a pity - it really was a thing of beauty before that first grill!

ramsfan

• WKC Performer
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2016, 08:29:09 AM »