Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Outsourced Weber Kettle... "Woolco" (for Woolworth's department store?)  (Read 960 times)

baglorious

• Smokey Joe
Greetings all.  I am a relative newb... not to grilling, but to being a kettlehead.  I'm about to pick up my fourth this weekend (have a line on a used JJ).

I am looking at FB marketplace, and see a "Woolco" kettle that the seller claims was made by Weber for Woolworth's department stores in the 70s.  It sure looks the part, as it appears identical to a Weber kettle in all respects, except for a handle that says "Woolco" on it.  Seller only wants $20 for it, and it appears to be rust free.  Probably will look great with the razor scrape / steel wool cleaning that I've done on my other kettles.

However (and here's the part where I offend the entire populace of the site), I am not compelled to get it... because candidly, it is pretty boring.  It is the 'standard' black kettle.  The handle is plastic (and other than saying 'Woolco', is not interesting).  It doesn't have any of the 'old kettle' gray discoloration.  While it would seemingly clean up nice... it would clean up to be a standard (but older) 22" kettle.  I'm not feeling driven to annoy the wife with a 5th kettle that is pretty standard overall.

I am wondering, however, whether I am passing on a 'gem' of some kind that I should be running to get.  Anyone aware of such 'outsourced' Weber kettles?  Think it has any significant collector value? 

It is only $20... and only 20 mins away, so it is an easy, low risk grab.  But what will likely happen with it... is it will sit and take up space in the ever-shrinking garage.  It doesn't have the appeal of a redhead, or brownie, or even a more modern colored kettle.  Unless it is a 'find'... I'm going to pass.

Thoughts?

YardBurner

• WKC Ranger
Go get it.
More than likely someone here will buy it from you.
Most likely @brewtownbeatdown
He really likes the variants.