Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: charcoal goes out in char-basket  (Read 3422 times)

bobbytables

• Smokey Joe
charcoal goes out in char-basket
« on: November 25, 2014, 05:12:13 PM »
I picked up the weber char-basket(s) about a month ago and have used them twice.  Both times my fire has gone out in one of the baskets.  I assume it is because the charcoal is clogging the air vents, but I'm a weber newb so what do i know.  I am using royal oak lump.  Is there anything I'm doing wrong?
Using Tapatalk

LightningBoldtz

• WKC Ambassador
Re: charcoal goes out in char-basket
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2014, 05:48:26 PM »
It's all about air flow make sure you have enough airflow.....
I am not a collector, but I do have a small collection.
"You can have everything in life you want if you will just help enough other people get what they want"

ojay

• Happy Cooker
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2014, 06:09:39 PM »
I rave to all my friends about the baskets, however, perhaps lump is your problem.
 I only use briquettes if I'm using baskets (due to airflow)
Give that a shot and hopefully it'll turn out better.

Heyjude

• WKC Performer
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2014, 07:42:24 PM »
What are you using for Charcoal. Mine never go out. I use a chimney to get the coals started and then dump in the baskets..
I don't care if you don't like my Avatar, its there for me..

pbe gummi bear

• WKC Mod
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2014, 07:48:58 PM »
I doubt it's charcoal ash clogging the basket. Are you sure that that charcoal is fully lit? If you use a chimney sometimes the charcoal on top isn't fully lit and won't catch when you pour it into a basket. This usually happens for the first basket you pour. If so, pour 1/4 of the chimney in basket #1, 1/2 in Basket #2, then the remaining 1/4 in basket number #1 to better distribute lit coal. What is your setup?
"Have you hugged your Weber today?"
Check out WKC on Facebook: