Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Question for the Guru's  (Read 6393 times)

Camp

• Smokey Joe
Question for the Guru's
« on: June 07, 2014, 08:54:18 AM »
Hey Everyone.

I scored a Green "H" (1986) OTS that I had been eyeballing for a few years from behind a local barn.  8)

The lid and bowl are in very good condition, but it will need a full set of wooden handles and the sweeper mechanism.

The question is...

Since the old sweeper mechanism is obsolete, can I substitute the newer mechanism ?

Or, will I be violating an unwritten Grillfella code, and possibly get whacked ?

SS Green Performer, Blue OTP, Red MBH, Green OTS, 79 Black MBH, Blue 18.5 Platinum, Black OTG, and a brand new Spirit E gasser.

Bman

• WKC Performer
Re: Question for the Guru's
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2014, 09:00:17 AM »
The new sweeper will bolt right in place and not a code violation as long as you replace the wooden handles with other wooden handles.  :)
I've always had gas...  And now a bunch of kettles because of this place.  Thanks!

MartyG

• WKC Performer
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2014, 09:02:28 AM »
Congrats on your new green monster Camp! (See what I did there; Camp is from Boston, Camp found a green OTS, Fenway park is in Boston, Green Monster...hee, hee)

So the bottom line is yes. You can sub out the older sweeps for the new style, but you can't sweep the Orioles out of Fenway!

Marty

DirectDrive

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2014, 09:35:22 AM »
As far as I know, these are the last of the stainless steel "H" drives.
I would grab one.
http://www.allpartsgrills.com/ecommerce/weber-charcoal-grill-cleaning-blade-kit.html

The replacement H drive is aluminized steel (not as cool as SS).

SixZeroFour

« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2014, 10:02:09 AM »
I would grab one.
http://www.allpartsgrills.com/ecommerce/weber-charcoal-grill-cleaning-blade-kit.html

Cheers for this - I didn't realize there were different versions of the H-Drive!